Hello and Welcome

Hi everyone–

Welcome to my blog! This is where I’ll post updates on my journey at HOMTV and all of my other adventures as I finish up my last semester at Michigan State. Before I go any further, here’s a little bit about me.

My dream job is to be a multimedia sports journalist. Since I’ve always had a love for storytelling and sports, it seemed like the most logical career path to pursue. When I started college, I initially wanted to go into media relations, but as time passed I realized that it wasn’t for me.  My experience working for Big Ten Network Student U, WXYZ-TV in Detroit, The Oakland Press and as a research assistant for documentary projects in the MSU School of Journalism have steered me more towards a MMJ route.  I’m excited for all the personal and professional growth I’ll experience at HOMTV. I know that once my time is up at HOM, I’ll have the necessary skills and confidence to take on the competitive world of sports broadcasting.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 1.58.12 PM

Reporting on Lions training camp for WXYZ-TV in summer 2014.

When I’m not in class or working, you can find me watching baseball. Baseball is the sport that inspired me to pursue a career in sports reporting and has played an integral role in my life since I was a child.  I was a player, scorekeeper, coach, announcer and park attendant at my local ballpark. I long for the day when I’m able to report on the Detroit Tigers winning the World Series.

Screen Shot 2015-01-20 at 1.59.55 PM

Back in the day: Keeping score for a tournament at Memorial Park in Royal Oak, Mich.

Sports obviously play a big role in my life, but I do enjoy other things.  Call me a nerd, but I love to read. I like to tell punny jokes (see what I did there) and have a dangerously large sweet tooth for cookies.

Now that I’ve covered the “about me” basics, it’s time to head off and complete my field production exam. Once that’s done, I’ll be all clear to use the HOMTV cameras. Wish me luck!

Until next time,

Alex

About alextekip

I am a senior at Michigan State University pursing a degree in journalism with a focus on sports reporting. I currently work for Big Ten Network Student U, The MSU School of Journalism and HOMTV. I am a huge bookworm who loves baseball, Detroit and bike riding. Some of my specialities include telling bad jokes and eating cookies.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

