Welcome!

Hello everyone! My name is Katie Gritzinger, and my job for the next few paragraphs is to tell you a bit about myself, my role at HOMTV, and all of my favorite things! We’ll start out with a quick video:

This video is me as a three-year-old. Apparently I was interested in the technical side of videography and photography from an early age! I have distinct memories of grabbing a video camera any chance I got, and making goofy videos with my brother and friends. I have always been so curious about everything related to production (without even really knowing it)!

When I was in high school, I took a class called Television Production Workshop. To be honest, I absolutely loved the class and learning everything about multi-camera and film style production, but I wish I had done a bit more with the opportunity because it could have helped me decide much sooner what I wanted to spend my life doing.

Featured image

When I started my Freshman year at Michigan State, I was majoring in Arts and Humanities. In the next few years, I changed my major six times. I have temporarily majored in everything from music education to biology and back. I even went through EMT certification at one point! It wasn’t until the spring of 2013 that I finally realized that I am NOT a science person, and I would actually be really good at editing videos. I had been doing them for fun in my free time, and my Mom suggested that I think about video production as a career.

Featured image

I changed my major to Media and Information in the fall of 2013 and never looked back. I love waking up every day knowing that I am doing something that I am not only good at, but something that I am incredibly passionate about. I have taken many classes that I have loved in this field, and I am glad that I finally found my niche.

I have to say, I can’t wait to graduate this spring. Being 23, I have spent almost all of my life in school. I love my internship with HOMTV because I am learning in the real world, and I am SO thankful that I was chosen for it. After graduation, I plan to travel for a couple of months, then look for full-time work with Disney out west. I was in love with California far before I knew that my career could take me there, so I’m pretty happy that I could settle down there eventually.

Featured image

In my free time, I like to play my guitar and write music, endlessly scroll through Tumblr, and (when it isn’t winter) I love to swim in Lake Michigan. During these chilly months, I like to go skiing and sledding. I’ve been skiing since I was three years old, and it’s my favorite way to be active.

So far, I love being a Production intern for HOMTV. I can’t wait to see what I learn this semester and I have never been more eager to start a period of my life than I was for this one. Throughout this internship, I will be blogging about all of the new things I learn about! Here’s to a great experience!

Featured image

Talk to you all soon! Thanks for reading!

-Katie Gritz

About katiegritz

Katie is a senior at Michigan State University majoring in Media and Information with a concentration in the TV, Cinema and Radio track, and a production intern with HOMTV. After graduation, Katie hopes to work for Disney as an editor. In her free time, Katie enjoys playing her guitar, swimming in oceans, and skiing on mountains. She is passionate about meeting new people, great food, and travel.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

