It’s more than great to be back.

In just about 4 months I will walk across a stage at Central Michigan University and receive my degree.

But before I undergo one of the biggest accomplishments of my life, I figured I should get a little more practice under my belt before I enter the real world of reporting, and that is why I decided to return to HOMTV.

Although I continued reporting up at CMU, it seemed like much more of a chore to do it for class, than to do it for an actual station. I missed HOMTV. I missed the family-like atmosphere, I missed the encouragement, the challenges, my friends and the new faces.

HOMTV has given me the skills I need to excel in the real world as a news reporter or multi-media journalist and I can’t wait to see what this semester has in store for me as a Junior reporting intern.

I can’t wait to watch myself grow, improve and learn from my mistakes with a great staff and great friends by my side.

I can’t believe this week marks my third week back at HOMTV.

So far this semester I completed a story on new businesses coming to Meridian Township, which is linked below.

STORY: http://homtv.net/index.asp?view=news&news_id=5600

Following that story I was fortunate enough to cover an ongoing investigative case about an abandoned baby in Roseville, MI along with a missing child in Okemos.

I have continued to collect statistics and talk to police and this and Thursday I will complete my first-ever-in-depth news package, hoping that I can possibly save a Childs life.

The story below talks about Michigan’s Safe Haven Law and how not many people know about it. Thursday, I will elaborate on this story and include a video and on-camera interviews. That story is linked below along with a screen shot of me performing a pretty serious stand-up.

STORY: http://homtv.net/index.asp?view=news&news_id=5599

10427356_10152687044791314_7198162829263803002_n

Although I’m extremely busy up at school, I am so excited to be back at HOMTV. It might have taken me a week to get back into the swing of things, but I’m here and I’m ready to give this last semester my all and give Meridian Township the news they need to know.

If you are interested in seeing any of the work I did while at school, please visit my website at EricaFrancis@weebly.com

Until next time, thanks for reading!

Erica Francis

About ericafrancisnews

My name is Erica Francis. I am a student at Central Michigan University looking to live out my dream as a news reporter. I grew up in Holland Michigan, but I have traveled the world. My favorite quote "Dreams don't work unless you do" Motivated. Dedicated. Hardworking. Lover. RiskTaker I won't stop until I reach the top. Lover of singing, dancing, acting, interviewing, and smiling. Past intern at --- City of Holland TV 95.3 WCFX Mt. Pleasant Fox 2 News Ignition Media Group Next stop....L.A
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

