It may come with a hefty price tag, but reporting for HOMTV is beyond priceless.

“Another day, another dollar.”

It’s a phrase people often use as they head into work each morning to repeat the same seldom task they did the day before.

It’s something that I grew up knowing I didn’t want to do; sit at a desk for 8 hours, dreading the day ahead.

Reporting is different. It’s new, it’s fresh and it keeps me on my toes. That’s why I love it so much! It’s hard to describe my love for reporting. It’s a kind of love you can’t explain, like the love of your children or spouse. It’s a love that’s passionate and irreplaceable. I strive to churn peoples emotions, make them think, find the lies, and seek the truth.

When I come in to HOMTV to report it’s not just “another day, another dollar” it’s another day of spending my own gas money, and buying overly priced coffees and sub sandwiches so I can gain valuable experience and knowledge for the workforce. For me it’s more, “another day, another lost dollar, but a gained experience.”

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 10.14.09 AM

(This coffee was $6, but so worth it)

Despite not getting paid, this internship is gold.

This internship has provided me with more than I could ever asked for. The opportunities I have been presented with here have been great, and the friendships I’ve made, even greater. All my fellow HOMTV interns are awesome, and I’ve really enjoyed getting to know them the past few weeks.

Screen Shot 2015-02-19 at 10.14.00 AM

(He’s cool)

So far this semester I have completed several news stories. Most recently, I completed a story on the debate over required vaccines.

STORY: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S8RYraQyebc

Today, I will be doing a sobriety test demo with one Meridian Township officer who will also be letting me try on a pair of drunk goggles and test out just how dangerous it is to drink and drive.

So far this semester I’ve been working hard on cutting down my turn time on news stories. I’ve also been working to concise my writing along with becoming more creative with my stand-ups and shooting.

Two weeks ago, I was able to anchor Meridian News Now Update for the first time. It was a great experience and I can’t wait to do it again. It’s really important to feel comfortable behind the anchor desk as a reporter, and I know anchoring here at HOMTV will help prepare me for a real world anchor job in the future.

Erica anchor blog

Keep an eye out for more of my stories on homtv.net

Thanks for reading!

About ericafrancisnews

My name is Erica Francis. I am a student at Central Michigan University looking to live out my dream as a news reporter. I grew up in Holland Michigan, but I have traveled the world. My favorite quote "Dreams don't work unless you do" Motivated. Dedicated. Hardworking. Lover. RiskTaker I won't stop until I reach the top. Lover of singing, dancing, acting, interviewing, and smiling. Past intern at --- City of Holland TV 95.3 WCFX Mt. Pleasant Fox 2 News Ignition Media Group Next stop....L.A
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

