Home sweet HOM(TV)!

Hello everyone! This month has been a whirlwind of learning so many new things as a production intern! Some of my favorite things about HOMTV so far are below (in no real order):

1.) I love that there’s always someone in the intern room available to help when I need it.

2.) I am really happy that I’m not absolutely terrified of technical directing and directing anymore (mostly thanks to Darkus, Richie, Brandon, Molly, and Mallory having faith in me).

3.) I am getting so much better at editing! At MSU, as a student, I didn’t get an opportunity to edit alone without being part of a group. At HOMTV, I edit almost every day!

4.) I love being a part of a great group of people. Life is so much happier being around people who all have similar interests and career goals as I do.

5.) Speaking of being part of a great group, I have a bunch of new friends!! I’m really thankful that everyone is so willing to reach out at work. It makes being a “rookie” that much better!

6.) My all-time favorite helpful go-to person this last month or so has been my AWESOME Big HOMie, Mallory!! She is basically the greatest. She is so talented and I look up to her and ask her for help probably twice a day.

IMG_8170
It’s always good to have a HOMie to take selfies with.

IMG_8285
This is one of the presents that Mallory gave me! She knows that I love traveling, and must have also subconsciously known that I have a lot of dull pencils, because this super cool globe doubles as a pencil sharpener!

7.) I love getting real-world experience in my field! I feel like the last month has taught me so much about everything I love!

8.) My bosses at HOMTV treat me like I am the coolest thing since sliced bread. They make me feel important. I’ve worked plenty of jobs where I didn’t feel like I matter. HOMTV is a brand new experience for me in the workplace and I couldn’t be more thankful.

I can’t wait to see what the next few months bring! So far, I’ve directed live television, gone out in a blizzard to shoot the Meridian Ice Fishing Derby, traveled around the Township to get b-roll, and I’m currently working on a promo about registering for recreational sports! I seriously love this place.

Until next time HOMies,

Katie

About katiegritz

Katie is a senior at Michigan State University majoring in Media and Information with a concentration in the TV, Cinema and Radio track, and a production intern with HOMTV. After graduation, Katie hopes to work for Disney as an editor. In her free time, Katie enjoys playing her guitar, swimming in oceans, and skiing on mountains. She is passionate about meeting new people, great food, and travel.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

