March Madness (and Sadness)

Well, here’s one way to summarize my month:

lizlemon


Silver lining of loss: bringing scattered families together. The whole DuBose clan!

Silver lining of loss: bringing scattered families together. The whole DuBose clan!

Even before my college basketball bracket was being mercilessly destroyed by Baylor and Iowa State, March was not my month. There was a significant loss in my family, my class work picked up and my life in general was stressing me out. A combination of these things made me fall behind. And let me tell you, “behind” is not where you want to be, at neither HOMtv nor Michigan State… especially not for a poor, helpless girl coming down with a bad case of senioritis.

St Paddy's Day 5k with a couple leprechauns!

St Paddy’s Day 5k with a couple leprechauns!

Enough of the sad stuff, though. I also celebrated my 23rd birthday, ran my first 5k, and I get to go on vacation in just a few short weeks! Things have been turning around and I’m excited that I now have the energy and time to crank this semester out and finish strong before graduation. Which reminds me, I got my cap and gown the other day… now it feels really real!

I guess it's really going to happen!

I guess it’s really going to happen!

It hasn’t been my most productive month with HOMtv, (quick shout out to the people who have been so helpful and understanding lately, by the way) but I have been sharpening up my animation skills and gathering some content for the next Beyond the Badge program. We’ve got some really cool stuff coming in the next show! Fellow HOMie Brett and I got to participate in the Ingham County Sheriff’s Office Media Shootout simulation, which gives people in the media an idea of what a day in the life of an officer is like. It was a very insightful experience, especially with all that’s going on in society these days. You’ll be able to check it out here next week, where you can also catch up on previous episodes.

Anyways, here’s to a better April full of sunshine and completed promos! 🙂

Until next time,

Mallory

About Mallory DuBose

Mallory DuBose is a senior at Michigan State University studying Media and Information. She enjoys traveling, television and playing lacrosse. After graduation, Mallory hopes to move to New York and dreams of working for NBC.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

