It’s not goodbye, it’s see you later

Wow. I can’t believe this semester is over. I can honestly say it flew by.

I’ll start off by saying I am so grateful4 eyes to have spent such an amazing semester with so many fantastic people. I could go on for days about how amazing I think you all are.

I am exhausted, happy and thankful, but I am better for it. If that is one thing I can say about HOMTV and my semester here, is that I am better for it. I am not the journalist I was 12 weeks ago. I am not the person I was 12 weeks ago. It is all thanks to this crazy, fun, stressful internship here on Marsh Road.

I’ve learned how to coil a cable in a seconds to rush to set up a meeting after a Meridian News Now shoot, I’ve learned how to talk political/governmental lingo, and I like to think I’ve learned a lot about how to be a better reporter.

I think the most important lesson I learned, though, wasn’t one that my internship coordinator, or any of the staff people at HOMTV were trying to teach me. I learned how to be better.

Vague, and confusing I am sure. But let me break it down for ya. I have never been a complacent person. I am always striving for more. HOMTV gave me the chance to channel everything I could into one finished outcome, and though I’ve got a long way to go, I’ve come a long way from where I was. I saw results. I saw myself get better. I felt myself making mental checklists like “don’t forget to white balance” and “you better bring a light” and “is the gain on?” over and over and over. I learned. I have never in my life felt myself learn so rapidly, or steadily as I have this semester at HOMTV.

I learned the dangers of the Diet Coke that never leaves my hand, the benefits of 8 hours of sleep a night, and cared more about potholes and water meter replacements than I ever thought I would. Honestly, I love being a part of a community that is so caring and compassionate about preserving and maintaining it’s integrity. It makes me happy to see people passionate about making where they live a better place.

I learned how to take it one day at a time. I learned how to take a deep breath, assess the damage, and move on. Fix the problem. As my favorite artist says, “the only answer to a problem is a solution,” and that fits perfectly for every bump in the road I’ve had in my time as an intern. Find the solution. I am so, so happy to have found people to show me how to find those solutions. I am thankful for the problems, because without them I wouldn’t have met the people. This skill set I have adopted is invaluable, and irreplaceable. To go with the flow and not totally lose my head is overall the best thing I have learned while at HOMTV.

Now I have a lot of thank yous. Thank you Deb for believing in us, and wanting the best out of your interns. Thank you Brandie for your words of encouragement and guidance on stories. Thank you Darkus for all the time and effort you put into solving our fifty billion technical difficulties. Thank you Brandon for your patience with us at meetings. I am sorry for being too jolly at times. Thank you Chance for understanding and appreciating my crazy free-spirited self. Thank you Chris for all the laughs. Thank you Jordanne for all your real-world advice. Thank you Aaron for all the “HELP.” Thank you Amanda for your kindhearted, sweet attitude and writing advice. Thank you Sierra for your passion for Panera, and your level-headed cool-as-a-cucumber attitude. Thank you Erica for pushing me to be a better reporter through your fantastic skill-set. Thank you Miguel for your general presence in my life. Your beauty radiates at me like the sun on a 90 degree day. Thank you Mallory for always being such a nice person when you’re directing and dealing with our craziness. Thank you Kiara for handling your ever-growing list of things to do with grace. You are a rock star. Thank you Richie for (hopefully) not hating me for all the sarcastic comments I make at you. I don’t mean them. You’re actually the best. Thank you Brett for showing me how to appropriately use social media. Thank you Molly for being a great friend and mentor. Thank you Qing for your helpful, joyous personality. Thank you Alex for connecting with me on a spiritual level at those stressful times in the intern room. Thank you Camille for your smiley, bubbly attitude no matter what. Thank you Katie for always making me laugh and for being the BEST talking flower I’ve ever seen. Thank you Chrystalline for being so inspired every time you walk through the door.

Thank you HOMTV.

XOXO ur fav scorpio

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

