The Finish Line

Here I am. The finish line of my college career is in sight. Some people like to finish a race with a sprint, but apparently my game plan is to walk it out until the hurdles (and due dates) are right in front of me. But hey, it works for me! And by this time next Friday, I will be graduated from Michigan State University!

Screen Shot 2015-05-03 at 9.04.43 PM

Much like other seniors, this month has been a little bit of everything for me. I’ve been asking the normal life questions every graduating senior does: Where has the time gone? What am I going to do with my life? When can I go home and watch Netflix? Why doesn’t Taco Bell deliver?

Alas, it’s good to know that I’m not alone, and that I’m graduating with other Spartans who are probably just as confused as I am with all of this.

St. Maarten, HOMtv, same thing.

What a day at HOMtv looks like. And St. Maarten. Basically the same thing.

My last month here at HOMtv has been a fun one! (and having a week off in the Caribbean for vacation during it didn’t hurt.) At the beginning of April I got to do a producer job shadow in Kalamazoo with former HOMie Chloe Hill which was really cool. I’ve always known that I want to work in the news world, but actually being in the station and seeing how it works really solidified that for me. I also learned how much I like to produce and direct news stories, and how much I hate so much prefer to not do promos. It’s good to know what you’re good at!

BB

The small (but mighty!) Beyond the Badge Crew! Just missing Darkus.

     I’ve also gotten a lot more confident in my directing. The latest Beyond the Badge will be coming out within the week, but you can check out the previous ones here! It’s been great working with Aaron and Brett. I’m getting way more comfortable with the switcher and other production elements, and it only took forty-five minutes for Darkus and I to set up a new soft box the other day! Now that’s progress. (Full disclosure: all of the parts were wrong in the soft box. It was not our fault, but it was a good time.)

This last week of the semester will consist of me finishing up my three-part series about how to Get Active! In Meridian Township. I’ve still got some things to work out for it, and despite a few setbacks due to some super fun technical difficulties, I think they will turn out well!

Until next time, Meridian Township!

– Mal

About Mallory DuBose

Mallory DuBose is a senior at Michigan State University studying Media and Information. She enjoys traveling, television and playing lacrosse. After graduation, Mallory hopes to move to New York and dreams of working for NBC.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

