I can’t believe that this semester is coming to a close, and in four days I will have my Bachelor’s Degree. How did that even happen? I… what?

I am so happy that I had the chance to intern at HOMTV. I’m not going to lie and say there were days that I was absolutely sure that I would never get all my work done, but I always managed to keep up (shoutout to Mallory for helping me with a bunch of assignments). I guess this post feels sort of bittersweet to me, and I don’t really know where to start.

Chrystaline and I out shooting b-roll on a particularly chilly day.

Chrystaline and I out shooting b-roll on a particularly chilly day.

This past month has been one for the record books. I produced a short film for class, turned in all of my work on time at MSU, worked at my other job on the weekends (the place known for endless breadsticks), and still managed to stay relatively optimistic! I’m actually pretty proud of myself.

Setting up for MNN with Mallory, and getting our moment in the spotlight.

Setting up for MNN with Mallory, and getting our moment in the spotlight.

Mostly, I’m just happy that I’ve met some really awesome people at HOMTV, and that I am graduating from MSU knowing way more than school alone could teach me. Not trying to brag or anything, but I could basically set up for Meridian News Now with my eyes closed and one hand tied behind my back by now (even though I usually still forget something). As far as production goes…not only am I learning a TON, I’m creating even more.

To bring this last post to a close (is anyone else getting teary-eyed writing or is it just me?), I want to thank Brandie, Darkus, and Brandon, as well as my fellow Production interns, Richie, Molly, and Mallory for being people I can always turn to with just about anything. I’m so happy I got to call 5151 Marsh Road my HOM away from home. Thanks for a great semester everyone! Go green!

-Katie

About katiegritz

Katie is a senior at Michigan State University majoring in Media and Information with a concentration in the TV, Cinema and Radio track, and a production intern with HOMTV. After graduation, Katie hopes to work for Disney as an editor. In her free time, Katie enjoys playing her guitar, swimming in oceans, and skiing on mountains. She is passionate about meeting new people, great food, and travel.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

