Maybe I’m not ready to move away from HOM yet…

I started this journey 15 weeks ago and I really can’t believe we’re down to the last few days.

I accepted this internship knowing I’d be a college grad with no place to live, no job, and family members less than thrilled I was taking an unpaid internship.

Well let me tell you, I found a part-time job and a place to live and wouldn’t trade this experience for anything in the world.

HOMTV has taught me so much I can’t believe it. Live shots no longer make me nervous and Township meetings aren’t so bad. I’ve learned to look forward to hosting Post-Script. It greatly improved my interviewing skills, but I also looked forward to talking with each board/commission member I would be interviewing. They all have such wonderful individual personalities and it really made it fun for me.

post script with scales reoprting meetings

I know I dreaded covering rallies at the capitol, but secretly it did a whole lot of good in boosting my confidence. I used to hate being around other reporters fighting to interview the same people. Now I have zero problem running right up to a Senator an asking for an interview with other reporters right behind me. It all comes with the territory and now I don’t mind it so much anymore.

Most importantly, I’ve been inspired by the people I get to work with everyday. My fellow interns are a great group of people. I’ve loved learning from them and watching all of our stories improve over time. They’re always there to give you a boost a confidence and to let you know you’re not alone in this. I’ll always cherish the countless laughs in the intern room. Many of them are moving on to the bigger and better things and I couldn’t be more excited for them. Although I love each intern dearly, I must say Qing Zang inspires me the most. I’m constantly amazed at the work she puts out. She’s a great story teller and I can’t imagine how hard it may be for her sometimes being so far away from her home in China. She’s always been there when I needed her the most. Whether she stays her in the U.S. or goes back home, I‘ll be anxious to see where my dear friend ends up next.

reporter live shot

Darkus gave me the best pep talk of my life after a hard two weeks and I’m forever grateful. That’s just one of the million great things about her. Fire Chief Fred Cowper is the sweetest man I’ve ever met and I think every Fire Chief should be just like him. I could go on forever about every single person I’ve met in Meridian Township, but I’ll stop here.

I will say from my first story until now I have improved, but I’m not where I’d like to be yet. I just can’t leave HOMTV, not yet anyway. There’s still so much I hope to accomplish, including changing my name. I’ll be back, but if it’s during summer of fall is still up in the air to this very moment. Guess you’ll have to look for my next blog to find out what I decide….

With love,

Camille M.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

