Why sports?

Why not sports is the real question. Getting into (sports) media as a career is a leap of faith, and you are the only one to thank or blame for your success. It sort of feels like this: but when you finally make it, it feels like this is …

I’ve been happy to call HOMTV my place of work for a year now and I still learn new things about the industry and myself on an almost daily basis.

Coming back was a no brainer for me because I have committed myself to succeeding in this field because I enjoy it. A wise man once said “do what you love and you will never have to work a day in your life”. He never said it would be easy, or pay well at first. I recently had (and still have) an offer to be groomed for a sales job that would basically have my school loans and every other bill taken care of in a few short years. Leaving me looking something like this before I was 30: It still isn’t something I have ruled out, but my biggest problem would be that I would feel like I have quit on a dream. Those of you who do know me, know that quitting isn’t something I do. Those of you who don’t, will learn that quickly.

I’m not perfect. I’ve made projects on media drives, and accidentally taken a camera I didn’t sign for. With that said, I’m going to push the people around me to make everyone better. That’s how I was brought up at home and all my previous jobs. For example, seeing Richie’s growth over the past semester is something I take as much pride in as my own success.

The best sports teams are the ones that are the hardest on eachother and hold eachother accountable. So if you see something you don’t like, let me have it by all means. No one in this building is a pro, but if everyone is pushing eachother to be better, then we will all get better. If people take shortcuts, then that becomes the standard. 

All-Access is my first big checkmark off my bucketlist, but there are so many more to go. I want to this show to grow and get better. I want everyone involved to look at it as the jumping off point for an illustrious and profitable career.

I came back because frankly, I’m not done yet. I still need a little time in the oven. I’m still raw. I’ve been on air for just about a year now. Also, anything I get my hands on I want to leave it better than I’ve found it. This show is one of those things.

To all you new sports people, I am going to learn from you and I hope that there is something I can help you learn along the way.

As always, don’t forget….

#AllAccessSports

About CertifiedChance

23. Aspiring Journalist. Reporter for ESPN100.9 Engineer for IMG College. Sports. Family. Friends. Food. Travel. Blog Topics: Main - Sport 1st Alternate: Travel 2nd - Food
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

