Knock! Knock! Is Camille at HOM!?!?

Okay Okay, So I know all my readers  have been wondering if I stayed at HOMTV for the summer…….. (well those of you who haven’t called or texted asking me.)

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The answer is YES, yes I did. I’m here to stay and they can’t get rid of me yet πŸ™‚

reporter live shot

So let me tell you why;

I really really REALLY want a job 😦 All my friends I went to school with have really cool reporting jobs except me! It’s honestly a little disheartening, but I’m a quote junkie so I just have to remember…

Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it; the time will pass anyway.”  

I put so much pressure on myself to graduate college and not enough into getting a job. So now the pressure is on. My goal is to get a job by December 13, 2015. Why you might ask? Well that will mark one year since I graduated and I think it would be nice if I had something to show for it by then.

camille at grauation

Which brings me to the other reason I returned; I just want to be a better reporter all around.

memememe

I learned so much last semester it was really life changing. Even still, I wasn’t happy with anything I put together last semester, well besides this story I suppose, and really want to put together good quality work I can be proud to put in my demo reel.

Besides that I’m glad to be back. It’s already been a tough two weeks, but I’m confident I’ll reach my goals and get to work on some great stories.

My first interview of the semester was this wonderful man πŸ™‚

camille and fred

Fire Chief Cowper was just as excited to see me as I was to see him! Of all the people I’ve met he inspires me the most. I never get sick of interviewing him, he’s really just that great of a person.  I swear I’m writing a whole chapter about him in my memoir that I’m writing in the future.

Finally, Hello to all the Rookie Interns! πŸ™‚ I know I haven’t met most of you, but I’m very happy you’re here. I have two small pieces of advice;

1. Never take for granted that you’re here at HOMTV. So many people wanted to be here, yet they picked YOU. Make yourself and everyone else glad they picked you.  Please make the most of this experience. There’s a lot to be gained here, and lost too if you don’t take advantage of your resources

2. Enjoy every moment. I know some days won’t be as fun as others. You may also learn a few life lessons, but remember you love what you do (whether that be reporting, production, social media) so try and enjoy it as much as possible. Good Luck!

Well Until Next Time

With Love,

Camille M.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

