Getting to Know Zach Fanko

This is my first blog post here at HOMTV. I’m excited and nervous at the same time. I guess you could say this is my first time getting news room experience. My name is Zachery Micheal Fanko and I’m from the small town of Morrice, MI. For those of you that don’t know where that is, it is near Perry, MI and about halfway between Flint and Lansing. I graduated from Morrice Junior/Senior High School in 2009 with around 40 of my classmates. Yes I wasn’t joking about my town being small. The first time I realized that journalism might be in my future was my freshmen year in high school, when my English teacher Ms. Darnell encouraged me to join the school newspaper. I eventually became the sports editor of the Bird’s Eye View(our high school’s mascot is the Orioles). I also played various sports during high school with football being my favorite. I earned All-Area Class D at center my Junior year as well as my Senior year at guard.

Now I’m a Senior here at Michigan State University and will be graduating with my Bachelor’s in Journalism this Summer. For the last year or so I’ve been volunteering at MSU Impact Sports for Impact 88.9 FM. I  started out as the MSU Tennis beat writer and eventually became the show host for “Octopi Hockeytown”, one of the podcasts that Impact produces. My dream is to someday become a play-by-play broadcaster. I enjoy all sports but if I had a choice I would choose football.

In my free time I like to play video games, mostly sports games with some shooters. I also am a die hard Detroit and MSU sports fan. That includes the Lions who I have faithfully

Melissa and I at Silver Bells in Lansing

Melissa and I at Silver Bells in Lansing

followed through thick and thin.  I am also engaged to my beautiful fiance Melissa. We have been together for nearly four years and we got engaged in March of last year. We are currently planning our wedding for November this year. On top of planning a wedding we also have a pet cat named Millie.

As far as this internship I’m hoping to gain experience in front of the camera and I’m really excited about what the future holds. Here’s to a great Summer at HOMTV!

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

