It’s Just the Nature of the Industry

This past month has taught me so many new things. Talk about being out of my comfort zone! I have never gotten so many things wrong consecutively before this internship… This must be what it feels like when someone throws you in a pool to teach you how to swim.

In all honesty, this has been a great experience. I can confidently say I have a solid grasp on editing and in Final Cut and Motion, which is something I highly doubted I would ever say as of last month. Check out some of my promos on my YouTube channel. Not too bad, if I do say so myself. I’ve also been learning the ropes on social media. Here’s a picture of me getting pics and vines for our social media pages around Meridian Township. At one FullSizeRenderof the construction sites, one of the workers even let me borrow a vest! As if a girl in a blazer didn’t stick out enough on a construction site. In addition, here are some things I’ve learned so far at HOMTV:

  • Bitly is my best friend.
  • Always always ALWAYS attach a picture.
  • Just because two solid sources say something doesn’t mean its correct or not subject to change
  • Everything is always changing.

It’s the nature of the industry. Everything is changing. Information is changing, styles are changing, processes are changing, it’s all subject to change. In the beginning, I was discouraged by my mistakes, but hey! It’s just good practice for the future because, chances are, by the time I get the hang of one thing it will be history and so the cycle goes… So here’s to embracing something new!

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

