Learning on the Fly, My Experience so far at HOMTV

After nearly a month and half at HOMTV I can honestly say I’ve learned more here than I did in over 4 years of college. It’s amazing how much one can learn with hands on experience. So far at HOMTV I’ve learned how to run audio for a live production, run teleprompter, run cameras for live production, and be the floor director.

I’ve covered a couple Lugnuts games which was a lot of fun. I had never shot video for a baseball game before coming here so that was good experience. I want to thank Jesse Goldberg-Strassler, the voice of the Lansing Lugnuts, for being such a great help at the games and giving me the opportunity to interview some great players. I also was given the opportunity to cover the Capital City Stealth, Lansing’s semi-pro football team, which was a great experience. Here is the package I did for their game against the Northern Michigan Wolves.  

I’ve also gained valuable experience in interviewing township officials and other prominent professionals in the Lansing area. One thing I’ve learned here at HOMTV is that the hours are never the same and that the only thing that is guaranteed is that you won’t be doing the same thing everyday. There was one day where I drove to Okemos to interview a school board member and then all the sudden got a text from one of the higher up interns, Aaron Jordan, about going to shoot video for the Same Sex ruling in Mason. Needless to say that was a long day but well worth it because of the experience.

Before I came to HOMTV I wanted to figure out if journalism was what I really wanted to do for a career. Although I still want to do play-by-play, I won’t be disappointed if I end up being an anchor or reporter.  I’ve found out that I really enjoy a lot of the behind the scenes work such as audio and behind the camera work.

Anyways that’s all I got until next time.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

