Chocolate Cake

Temptation is like chocolate cake. At the time, you may really want it, but you know it’s not good for you. So, instead you decide to go for a run and put in the extra effort to get the results you want. It’s like when life gets really crazy and stressful, we’re all tempted to just quit. But it’s important to keep that end goal in mind and remember that life isn’t always easy. Chocolate Cake

I knew this internship was going to be hard work, and boy, was I ready to work my tail off. However, I’ve been told that I’m too hard on myself or I’m my biggest critic. I’ll admit, I’m a perfectionist, and that can be a blessing and a curse at the same time. I want everything I do to accurately represent me and my abilities, but I’m learning that not everything is going to go perfectly. I just need to breathe and go with it, but that’s easier said than done.

Abbey and Aaron 6.22.15A few weeks ago, HOMTV was trying out their new TVUPack, which lets us report live off site for our weekly news show. That week, I was doing a story on the township’s road/sidewalk projects and was chosen to be the first reporter to test this out. I was excited and nervous all at the same time. This was a moment that would be remembered in HOMTV history, and I was going to be a part of it! Sadly, it wasn’t the “best” moment. While it was my first time using the TVUPack, it was everyone else’s first time, too. It wasn’t a complete disaster, but we definitely had some learning to do. All that consumed me afterwards was how could I have been better? Why didn’t I do this, or why didn’t I do that?

I alScreen Shot 2015-07-27 at 12.08.01 AMso feel like lately it’s been harder for me to get creative with my stories. Maybe, I’m over thinking it too much? Maybe, I’m just freaking myself out for no reason? Like I said, I want everything I do to be perfect, but sometimes I put way too much pressure on myself, especially for being someone who’s only been doing this for two months.

I’m also still learning to balance my time between here and my other job. While I’m learning a lot of great things here, I also need to pay bills and make money. There have been many times where I have felt like I wanted to just give up. I’d think about how I used to have a salary-paid job and miss it. It seemed like the easiest thing for me to do was to give up and go back to what I was doing before. But the more I thought about it, the more I remembered why I’m here.

Do I still get stressed out at times? Sure. But do I think the experience is worth a lot and will pay off in the end? Absolutely.

Life is full of temptation, but it’s up to us to decide for ourselves what’s worth it and where our priorities lie. As the saying goes, the best things in life are worth fighting for – this is definitely one of them.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

