How Does One “Blog?”

I not very creative when it comes to stuff like this. That’s why I went into journalism, a career where there’s exactly one story to tell and I don’t need to create ideas off the top of my head. Now…on the other hand… during my internship at HOMtv I’ve learned that journalism takes a LOT of creativity. There are many ways to tell a story and each journalist can tell one in their own way.

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 1.53.38 AM

Creating a package… the amount of creativity it takes to create a package that tells a good story AND is visually appealing, it’s a lot of work! Telling a story in a way that makes sense and is easy to follow along with is probably one of the most creative tasks I’ve ever faced. Seriously, I don’t even like coloring in a coloring book because I’m not creative to pick the colors! But creativity is a skill that comes in many shapes and sizes. You can be creative in the journalism world and each reporter’s creativity makes their story telling unique. Let’s just say I found out that I am way more creative than I thought due to working at HOMtv.

Let’s reflect on the last month of sunny July. I didn’t do many stories but the stories I did do, Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 1.47.59 AMI put a lot of work into. I would say the Meridian Summer Playground Program was my first PKG that
I stepped out of my comfort zone with and tried telling a story from a new source, through kids. And using my CREATIVITY I was able to have 9 year-year-olds tell the story.

Screen Shot 2015-07-31 at 1.54.42 AM

 

No but really, thank you HOMtv for showing me I do have skills that I once thought I didn’t and thank you HOMtv for making me a better reporter because I can confidently say HOMtv’s lessons will stick with me throughout my whole career. SOCIAL MEDIA!!! Am I right?

 

 

 

-Andrea

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

