Ride The Harley Into The Sunset

Wooooow. It’s the last day of July and unfortunately the last day of my tenure at the HOMTV internship program. The title of my blog comes from the song “Easy Rider” by Action Bronson aka BamBam Baklava. Let the funkaedelic consume your ears.

Action Bronson – “Easy Rider” (Official Video)

As I’m looking at this screen and I’m thinking of all the memories and experiences I’ll take with me for a long time. The bulk of my thoughts will be in the form of shout-outs to the crew but I’ll get to that after I bring you up to speed with what you missed.

11058571_10153432805118909_7441884577268728624_n

I did a live shot and forgot to include my tie in the picture

This blog post almost never happened because I though about quitting. I was literally an exit interview away from throwing in the towel. It wasn’t because I didn’t like what I was doing but balancing other jobs etc. stressed me out and thinned me out because I wasn’t getting any sleep. I learned that I only had a few tasks left to be eligible for completing the program early. So I decided to finish what I started and here I am, I’m finished.

bikehomtv

This is my accomplished face

I told you I would flex my culinary skills so I’m keeping my promise of posting a picture of some fine chicken parm meal I made for lunch (I actually made this before I came into HOMTV). It’s all from scratch. No ragu or any of that rubbish. Don’t be a chooch, make your pasta like an adult. I tried making sushi last Sunday afternoon and that was not an easy task. Preparing rice, veggies and the meat is the easy part but cutting the sushi roll without crushing the roll is more difficult than slope intercept form (I don’t have any pictures of the sushi). The moral of the story is to expand your horizon especially when it comes to food. Also, challenge yourself.

11796218_10153393661505791_7333562680024174488_n

That’s that “good-good”.

This month I produced a package about off-season training for athletes and not only did I like the story but I thought I killed it with the stand-up. We had just won a hockey game and I pulled a rabbit out of the hat with the idea to talk about hydration (the iroy of the water missing my mouth was kinda funny too). I was impressed with the ability to make something out of nothing and anyone in this field knows that is common.

Before I wrap things up I want to give props, kudos and dap to the wonderful group of people I have spent the entire summer with, my rookie class. First off, pour some out for the interns that aren’t here with us now. We conquered the workshops like 1992 Dream Team, survived the meetings that we thought would never end and went through EVERY SINGLE WORD of the manual now look where we are. The light at the end of the tunnel is visible so take a deep breath and finish strong. I wish you all the best no matter where you end up and I hope we stay in touch.

To the non-rookies, I learned a lot from all of you and had a blast getting to know you as friends instead of co-workers. Your group set a solid example of what is expected and how to excel at HOMTV. Once again, I hope you all reach your goals whatever they may be. Shout out to those getting bread from HOMTV and long live All-Access!

To the staff at HOMTV, if it weren’t for you I wouldn’t be here. I was given this opportunity and I hope I showed that I earned my place here. Social media is a big deal in this field and I slowly understand its importance. The phrase Meridian Township will be engraved into my mind for years and years to come. I’ll never forget all of the late nights in the intern room, the fits with fibrejet and uploading a package on YouTube.

What’s next for me, you ask? I’m embarking on my final year of college at Michigan State University and going to lock down two degrees. I’ll still be spending time at two radio stations and Big Ten Network so I’ll be busy. I’ve grown a lot this summer and during my time in college. That being said, I have lots of expectations for myself entering this year such as locking down a grown man job before I graduate and make the dean’s list for my momma.

One lesson I’ll take from this internship is how important relationships can be. If it wasn’t for the wonderful people I interacted with this semester I would of never made it through the summer. As of right now, I won’t be back this fall or spring but I may be back for another summer blockbuster. Stay tuned.

Un Amor.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

