Better Late Than Never…

But never late is better..oops this post is a little late. And if there’s one thing I’ve learned at HOMtv, it’s to not procrastinate! Obviously this is a bad example because my blog post is late, but I promise I’m learning. And looking back on the beginning of the semester from this point, I have learned so much. Not just about HOMtv and the news world, but about myself and how I work. I found that I love working on promos. I love the creative aspect that being assigned promos allows me to play around with. I’ve found that I struggle with packages and VOSOTS, not because they’re hard, but because I’m socially awkward and I have a hard time conducting interviews.

Last year I went on a study abroad trip to Peru for photojournalism. Half of the trip I was nearly mortified because we had to approach local Peruvians for interviews and pictures based around their daily lives. The locals basically hated us and thought we were just ignorant tourists with fancy cameras. But after a couple of times, I got comfortable approaching the locals and taking pictures. Mainly because they spoke spanish and I couldn’t tell if they were telling me to stop anyways…oops. But the moral of the story is I overcame the socially awkward boundary I was stuck in in Peru eventually.

I thought it would be just as easy here, and while the people have made it easy to approach, I myself, am still socially awkward. The people of Meridian Township are so friendly and willing to help out any chance they get, and not to mention they love their five minutes of HOMtv fame. But sometimes, I wish they spoke Spanish like the Peruvians did, so they couldn’t understand me. When it came to actually interviewing, I found myself being extremely nervous mostly in fear that I’m wasn’t knowledgable on the topic. Even with research before hand, I’d still find myself stuttering to ask the next question. As the weeks go on it has gotten easier, but I wouldn’t mind sticking to sitting behind a computer screen busting out promos every week if I had the choice.

These pictures are screenshots of my favorite promos I’ve made so far at HOMtv

Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 4.48.42 PM Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 4.48.05 PM

The mosquito one (left) was an absolute blast to make. I made the whole thing in motion and I felt like I was creating a cartoon. The sunscreen one (right) was fun because I got to work with my hilarious Uncle at the beautiful cottage which was perfect scenery for a sunscreen promo.

Don’t get me wrong though, I’m not some creepy girl who just wants to sit in a dark cave and make promos all day. Just last week Fire Inspector Tavis Millerov had a great idea for a car heat experiment using cookies. Myself and Caroline had the chance to follow the process all day long and even indulge in some dashboard cookies later on with the rest of the interns. Screen Shot 2015-08-02 at 4.57.50 PM

It’s fun, spontaneous projects like this that make me so happy to be an intern at HOMtv. While I’m still learning, I’m glad I get to do it in the HOMtv environment with amazing staff, interns, and residents.

Thanks for continuing to allow me to grow, learn, and accept my flaws (I’ll seriously work on this procrastination thing!)

TATA for now (:

Kendall

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

