Ramble On

Well hello there, friends. It’s about that time again, isn’t it? Time for another blog post.

As I’ve been sitting here thinking about what to write, I realized that I’m currently living some sort of déjà vu. When I was a rookie intern, there were three main things that became behavioral habits of mine; post-producing Senior Living in 8 hour blocks of time, staying late/overnight at HOM, and writing my blog posts at 3 am. I seem to have fallen back into those habits on this particular Sunday evening (Monday morning. It really is 3 am, I wasn’t kidding).

I realize that all of this makes me sound like a huge procrastinator, but stay with me, I promise there’s a point to all of this.

I think there is something really remarkable about people who go through their lives/careers with the ability to pull themselves out of a slump. Don’t get me wrong, we all go through ups and downs. But I’m talking about a real, certified, “I have no idea what I’m doing with my life right now” slump. The more people I talk to about post-graduation plans, the more I see people getting discouraged and questioning whether or not they even picked the right field of study. It’s really sad, but understandable. It gets discouraging to apply and apply and never hear back from anyone. Or to be working a job that you think you should love, but you feel completely uninspired when faced with the work.

I’ll be honest, I’ve been feeling these feels lately. It’s been a rough couple of weeks here. Most of the shows are on hiatus, a lot of the equipment is only semi-functional if it isn’t already broken, and I’ve got school work piling on top of what I have to do here. So when I looked at myself today and realized that I had fallen back into year-old habits, I wondered if I had really been improving my life at all.

But then, like an oncoming Frisbee in the dark, it hit me.

How do any of us even know if we’re moving in the right direction? I don’t think we’ll ever have a concrete answer for that question, but I look at it like this: are you better off than you were a year ago? Are you happier? Have you learned more about the work in your field? Has the quality of work that you produce improved at all? If you’re answering yes to any or all of these questions, then you deserve a high five.

tumblr_mzcma7JvHq1qd1s6no1_r1_250

Seriously y’all. If you’ve made positive growth at all over the past year, you’re doing fine!

I’ve been looking at my situation that way. I fell into some old habits of stress, but when it comes down to it, the work I’ve been doing this summer is on a completely different level than what I was doing before. Since I came back HOM, I’ve learned so much more about the control room equipment, about how to become more comfortable while directing, etc. I definitely feel like I’m still improving, and that’s how it should be.

Here’s the cliche, ok. It’s all about learning. Keep doing it. When you learn new things, it rekindles the spark in your brain that makes you eager to improve and learn more. I think that gives you the drive to push yourself onto bigger and better things. Easier said than done, of course, but it’s not impossible.

This has become a pretty heavy rant. I’ve got a lot more to say when I only check in once a month, but I’ll wrap it up.

Hang tight, you guys. We’re going to make it.

~Hannah

 

P.S. The title of this blog is a representation of my lengthy writing, AND the title of one of Led Zeppelin’s best songs. Double whammy.

 

About hannahtcook

Videographer. Editor. Production intern at HOMTV 21. East Lansing, Michigan.
This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

