Season Finale: So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

Choose your own background music:

Into the West (Lord of the Rings)

Carry on Wayward Son (Supernatural Season Finale Opener)

Finale (from the Broadway musical In the Heights)

Horrible Credits (Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog)

Well. As I write this blog, I’ve only got four days left at HOMtv. Four days, that include one episode of Meridian News Now, one Township Board meeting, one interview, one day of promo filming, and a whole lotta editing. Man, it really seems like just yesterday I was stressing out about trying to do stories while learning the procedure for meetings and completing my exams, and now it’s practically over.

I’ve gotta say, I have learned a LOT in the past three months at HOMtv. How to shoot, edit, and write a news story, what goes into a live news show, how to deal with equipment issues (including equipment reservations not being followed), and so much more.

I’m currently working on my Community Connection piece, which focuses on the owner of the Purple Carrot food truck and Red Haven restaurant; I’m really excited, and I think it’s going to come out really nice. Also, Shiv, Kendall, Bonnie, and I have been working really hard on our group promo. We’ve gotta reshoot on Monday because there were some things that didn’t pass inspection, but I think we’re going to be fine.

You know, now that the time to leave is here, I’m not really sure how to feel. I’m excited to be heading back to CMU, but it kinda sucks to leave HOMtv behind. But, I won’t be saying ‘goodbye’ when I go. Never say goodbye. If you don’t say goodbye, then you aren’t really gone. You… just aren’t here right now.

I’m really glad to have had this experience. I met so many awesome people and learned so much, and it’s just been really awesome. To all of my HOMies, thank you.

And before I go, I just want to tell you, you were fantastic. Absolutely fantastic. And d’you know what? So was I!

I’ve regenerated! You can keep up with all my new blogging nonsense over here.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Season Finale: So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish

  1. Pingback: Down the Rabbit Hole | Brandon Craigie

Leave a Reply

