Let’s take a walk…

Go ahead and sit back, relax, and take a moment to indulge into my life. Oh…you may want to grab some popcorn while you’re at it.

Hmm…where should I get started…AH! I know!

First off, aloha everyone! My name is Alysia Burgio and if you’re reading this that means you must be curious about how I got to where I am now. So if that’s the case, let me tell ya!

I am 24 years old with a hardcore passion for television reporting. Currently, I am interning at HOMTV in Okemos, MI and boy oh boy has it been a rollercoaster already. But before I get into everything I have been doing recently, let me give you some background on how I got started and tell you a little bit about me in general . Drumroll please!

IMG951088

The most recent picture of my sister Lexi and I 🙂

I have 6 members in my family including little ol’ me. Two awesome older brothers (32 & 30) and one younger sister (who is officially 21 now, yikes!)..so yes, I am a middle child. In terms of my parents, they are the greatest mom and dad anyone could ask for. I know everyone says that about their parents but mine truly are. If you couldn’t tell already, I am a huge family person..they are my rock.

I graduated high school in 2009 after taking a broadcasting class my junior and senior year. That is where my love for this exhilarating profession came into play. I attended Oakland Community College for 2 years and received an Associates Degree in Liberal Arts…so basically, I got a high five on completing all my general core classes. Woohoo go me!

Fast forward a tad and this is where I began my adventure at Central Michigan University. To say I was involved in my program would be an understatement. I LITERALLY DID EVERYTHING! I immediately got involved with CMU’s television station News Central 34.FB_IMG_1442929429952
I got offered the position of being a health reporter, entertainment reporter, multi-media journalist, and eventually became a producer my senior year. Being a part of NC34 was one of the greatest experiences of my undergrad BY FAR.

Besides that, I was heavily involved with an organization in my program called the National Broadcasting Society (NBS) where I was the President my senior year. Every year, NBS attends a National Convention in a different state where members attend several panels daily to speak with broadcast professionals.IMG_20150328_202325 At the end of my senior year, my chapter was awarded 2 awards which was the greatest feeling in the entire world. Here is a photo of Catie Goins (the Vice President at the time), my faculty advisor Jeff Smith and I at the award show! Pretty awesome isn’t it?!

I also hosted my own show called “RSO in the Spotlight,” co-produced a show called “Face in the Crowd,” hosted a few radio talk shows over the years, and did a few other knick-knacks here and there.

FINALLY, I graduated from CMU this August with my Bachelor’s in Broadcast & Cinematic Arts with a minor in Communication.IMG_20150824_185625 I actually just received my diploma a few weeks ago (hence my excitement in the photo) which was an overwhelming feeling considering it was the most expensive piece of paper I have ever held!

IMG_20150729_193736

And yes, that is Mr. Guy Gordon everyone. One of the most supportive and talented people I have ever met.

Directly after my senior year ended in May, I began an internship at WDIV Local 4 in Detroit where I worked for the show “Live in the D.” It was one of the most amazing experiences in my life and I felt so honored to have been given the opportunity to work there. I gained so much experience with reporting and writing and met so many wonderful people.IMG_20150905_161058

Now here I am, currently sitting at HOMTV writing this blog for you lovely individuals. It has been one heck of a rollercoaster as I mentioned earlier. So far we’re in the process of workshops upon workshops BUT we get our first assignment on Friday which I’m beyond stoked about! We’ve already gotten to go out and play with cameras, practice interviewing and work on our writing skills. Snapchat--356149274129697985Although everything is pretty overwhelming right now, I know I am going to gain so much experience with this internship and it will definitely help prepare me for my first reporting job.

So with that being said, I applause you for getting through my entire novel of a blog!

Reporting from inside my head, Alysia Burgio, HOMTV. Until next time everyone.

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

