Lights, Camera, Action

Since I last wrote, I was just beginning my internship at HOMTV. I was overwhelmed with emotions, and a state of uncertainty. My decision to continue on this journey has turned into an amazing experience. I have learned to balance an internship, school, and a job. I have gained an assortment of new skills, including shooting and editing video footage. I created my first promo called, “DIY: 5 Things To Protect Our Watersheds.”   

Check out my youtube channel to see new promo releases https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCD2MFS93uZsLDQknIV2AJlw.

I receive weekly assignments, which vary from promos, press releases, and other social media related tasks. I wrote a halloween safety press release with a cute twist for remembering safety tips

Halloween Safety Tips

I attended the 2015 Greater Lansing Area Heart Walk, where I promoted the event on Facebook and Twitter. HOMTV was a media sponsor for the event, so it was great first experience for me to practice my social media techniques.

.2015 Great Lansing Heart Walk

I went outside of my comfort zone when a former Intern named Abby asked me to shoot an  interview and b-roll at Kinawa Middle School. The story was about 5th and 6th graders receiving tablets for learning purposes. It went better than I expected too! Brandie our internship coordinator even told me I shot great b-roll! I was happy I could help out a fellow intern and HOMTV!

First live interview and shoot

If you are interested in a fast paced real world working environment and have a passion for television and the magic behind it, check out my flyer to learn more about the HOMTV internship!

HOMTV Internship Flyer

-Janelle

This entry was posted in Meridian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

